2022 年 BazelCon 将于 11 月 16 日至 17 日在纽约和线上举办。
立即报名!

构建文件

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

前面的部分简要介绍了软件包、目标、标签和构建依赖项图。本部分介绍了用于定义软件包的具体语法。

根据定义,每个软件包都包含一个 BUILD 文件,这是一个简短的程序。BUILD 文件使用命令式语言 Starlark 进行评估。

它们会被解读为一系列连续的语句。

一般来说,顺序很重要:例如,变量必须在使用之前定义。但是,大多数 BUILD 文件仅包含构建规则的声明,并且这些语句的相对顺序是不重要的;重要的是到软件包评估完成时,哪些规则声明了什么值。

当执行构建规则函数(如 cc_library)时,它会在图中创建一个新的目标。此目标稍后可使用标签进行引用。

在简单的 BUILD 文件中,您可以随意对规则声明进行重新排序,而无需更改行为。

为了促进代码和数据之间的完全分离,BUILD 文件不能包含函数定义、for 语句或 if 语句(但允许使用列表理解和 if 表达式)中披露政府所要求信息的数量和类型。可以在 .bzl 文件中声明函数。此外,BUILD 文件中还不允许使用 *args**kwargs 参数;改为明确列出所有参数。

最重要的是,Starlark 中的程序无法执行任意 I/O 操作。这种不变性使得对 BUILD 文件的解释具有封闭性,仅依赖于一组已知的输入,这对于确保构建可重现非常重要。如需了解详情,请参阅封闭性

BUILD 文件应仅用 ASCII 字符编写,但从技术上讲,它们是使用 Latin-1 字符集解释的。

由于 BUILD 文件需要随着底层代码的依赖项发生变化而进行更新,因此这些文件通常由团队中的多个人维护。BUILD 文件创建者应自由评论,以记录每个构建目标的角色(无论它是否打算公开使用),以及记录软件包本身的角色。

加载扩展程序

Bazel 扩展程序是一些以 .bzl 结尾的文件。使用 load 语句从扩展导入符号。

load("//foo/bar:file.bzl", "some_library")

这段代码会加载文件 foo/bar/file.bzl 并将 some_library 符号添加到环境中。这可用于加载新规则、函数或常量(例如,字符串或列表)。您可以通过在调用 load 时使用其他参数来导入多个符号。参数必须是字符串字面量(无变量),并且 load 语句必须出现在顶层,它们不能位于函数正文中。

load 的第一个参数是一个标识 .bzl 文件的标签。如果是相对标签,则会根据包含当前 bzl 文件的软件包(而非目录)进行解析。load 语句中的相对标签应使用前导 :

load 也支持别名,因此您可以为导入的符号分配不同的名称。

load("//foo/bar:file.bzl", library_alias = "some_library")

您可以在一个 load 语句中定义多个别名。此外,参数列表可以包含别名和常规符号名称。以下示例完全合法(请注意何时使用引号)。

load(":my_rules.bzl", "some_rule", nice_alias = "some_other_rule")

.bzl 文件中,以 _ 开头的符号不会被导出,无法从其他文件加载。可见性不会影响加载(您无需使用 exports_files 公开 .bzl 文件)。

构建规则的类型

大多数构建规则都来自系列,并按语言组合在一起。例如,cc_binarycc_librarycc_test 分别是 C++ 二进制文件、库和测试的构建规则。其他语言使用相同的命名方案,但采用不同的前缀,例如 java_* for Java。其中一些函数记录在 Build Encyclopedia 中,但任何人都可以创建新规则。

  • *_binary 规则以给定语言构建可执行程序。构建后,可执行文件将位于构建工具的二进制输出树中,对应于规则的标签名称,因此//my:program(例如)$(BINDIR)/my/program中披露政府所要求信息的数量和类型。

    在某些语言中,此类规则还会创建一个 runfiles 目录,其中包含属于规则的 data 属性中提及的所有文件,或其传递依赖项的任一规则;这组文件汇集在一个位置,以便轻松部署到生产环境中。

  • *_test 规则是 *_binary 规则的专用项,用于自动化测试。测试就是在成功时返回零的程序。

    与二进制文件一样,测试也包含 runfiles 树,测试下的文件是测试运行时可以合法打开的唯一文件。例如,程序 cc_test(name='x', data=['//foo:bar']) 可能会在执行期间打开并读取 $TEST_SRCDIR/workspace/foo/bar。(每种编程语言都有自己的效用函数来访问 $TEST_SRCDIR 的值,但它们都等同于直接使用环境变量。)如果未能遵守此规则,当测试在远程测试主机上执行时,将导致测试失败。

  • *_library 规则用于指定给定编程语言中单独编译的模块。库可以依赖于其他库,而二进制文件和测试可以依赖于具有预期单独编译行为的库。

标签 依赖项

BazelCon 2022 is coming November 16-17 to New York and online.
Register today!

BUILD files

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

The previous sections described packages, targets and labels, and the build dependency graph abstractly. This section describes the concrete syntax used to define a package.

By definition, every package contains a BUILD file, which is a short program. BUILD files are evaluated using an imperative language, Starlark.

They are interpreted as a sequential list of statements.

In general, order does matter: variables must be defined before they are used, for example. However, most BUILD files consist only of declarations of build rules, and the relative order of these statements is immaterial; all that matters is which rules were declared, and with what values, by the time package evaluation completes.

When a build rule function, such as cc_library, is executed, it creates a new target in the graph. This target can later be referred using a label.

In simple BUILD files, rule declarations can be re-ordered freely without changing the behavior.

To encourage a clean separation between code and data, BUILD files cannot contain function definitions, for statements or if statements (but list comprehensions and if expressions are allowed). Functions can be declared in .bzl files instead. Additionally, *args and **kwargs arguments are not allowed in BUILD files; instead list all the arguments explicitly.

Crucially, programs in Starlark can't perform arbitrary I/O. This invariant makes the interpretation of BUILD files hermetic — dependent only on a known set of inputs, which is essential for ensuring that builds are reproducible. For more details, see Hermeticity.

BUILD files should be written using only ASCII characters, although technically they are interpreted using the Latin-1 character set.

Because BUILD files need to be updated whenever the dependencies of the underlying code change, they are typically maintained by multiple people on a team. BUILD file authors should comment liberally to document the role of each build target, whether or not it is intended for public use, and to document the role of the package itself.

Loading an extension

Bazel extensions are files ending in .bzl. Use the load statement to import a symbol from an extension.

load("//foo/bar:file.bzl", "some_library")

This code loads the file foo/bar/file.bzl and adds the some_library symbol to the environment. This can be used to load new rules, functions, or constants (for example, a string or a list). Multiple symbols can be imported by using additional arguments to the call to load. Arguments must be string literals (no variable) and load statements must appear at top-level — they cannot be in a function body.

The first argument of load is a label identifying a .bzl file. If it's a relative label, it is resolved with respect to the package (not directory) containing the current bzl file. Relative labels in load statements should use a leading :.

load also supports aliases, therefore, you can assign different names to the imported symbols.

load("//foo/bar:file.bzl", library_alias = "some_library")

You can define multiple aliases within one load statement. Moreover, the argument list can contain both aliases and regular symbol names. The following example is perfectly legal (please note when to use quotation marks).

load(":my_rules.bzl", "some_rule", nice_alias = "some_other_rule")

In a .bzl file, symbols starting with _ are not exported and cannot be loaded from another file. Visibility doesn't affect loading (yet): you don't need to use exports_files to make a .bzl file visible.

Types of build rules

The majority of build rules come in families, grouped together by language. For example, cc_binary, cc_library and cc_test are the build rules for C++ binaries, libraries, and tests, respectively. Other languages use the same naming scheme, with a different prefix, such as java_* for Java. Some of these functions are documented in the Build Encyclopedia, but it is possible for anyone to create new rules.

  • *_binary rules build executable programs in a given language. After a build, the executable will reside in the build tool's binary output tree at the corresponding name for the rule's label, so //my:program would appear at (for example) $(BINDIR)/my/program.

    In some languages, such rules also create a runfiles directory containing all the files mentioned in a data attribute belonging to the rule, or any rule in its transitive closure of dependencies; this set of files is gathered together in one place for ease of deployment to production.

  • *_test rules are a specialization of a *_binary rule, used for automated testing. Tests are simply programs that return zero on success.

    Like binaries, tests also have runfiles trees, and the files beneath it are the only files that a test may legitimately open at runtime. For example, a program cc_test(name='x', data=['//foo:bar']) may open and read $TEST_SRCDIR/workspace/foo/bar during execution. (Each programming language has its own utility function for accessing the value of $TEST_SRCDIR, but they are all equivalent to using the environment variable directly.) Failure to observe the rule will cause the test to fail when it is executed on a remote testing host.

  • *_library rules specify separately-compiled modules in the given programming language. Libraries can depend on other libraries, and binaries and tests can depend on libraries, with the expected separate-compilation behavior.

Labels Dependencies