2022 年 BazelCon 将于 11 月 16 日至 17 日在纽约和线上举办。
立即报名!

动态执行

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

动态执行是 Bazel 0.21 版中的一项功能,该功能使用同一个完成的分支的输出并行启动同一操作的本地和远程操作,从而取消另一个分支。它将远程构建系统的执行能力和/或大型共享缓存与本地执行的低延迟相结合,从而为干净构建和增量构建提供这两者的优势。

本页介绍了如何启用、调整和调试动态执行。如果您同时设置了本地执行和远程执行,并尝试调整 Bazel 设置以提高性能,那么本页面非常适合您。如果您尚未设置远程执行,请先转到 Bazel 远程执行概览

要启用动态执行吗?

动态执行模块是 Bazel 的一部分,但要利用动态执行,您必须能够通过相同的 Bazel 设置在本地和远程编译。

如需启用动态执行模块,请将 --internal_spawn_scheduler 标志传递给 Bazel。这将添加一个名为 dynamic 的新执行策略。您现在可以将其用作您要动态运行的助记符的策略,例如 --strategy=Javac=dynamic。请参阅下文,了解如何选择要启用动态执行方式的助记符。

对于任何使用动态策略的助记符,远程执行策略取自 --dynamic_remote_strategy 标志,从 --dynamic_local_strategy 标志中获取本地策略。传递 --dynamic_local_strategy=worker,sandboxed 会设置动态执行的本地分支的默认值,从而按顺序尝试工作器或沙盒化执行。传递 --dynamic_local_strategy=Javac=worker 时仅会替换 Javac 助记符的默认值。远程版本的工作原理与此相同。您可以多次指定这两个标志。如果操作无法在本地执行,该操作会像往常一样远程执行,反之亦然。

如果您的远程系统有缓存,当远程系统指示缓存命中后,--experimental_local_execution_delay 标志会增加本地执行中的延迟(以毫秒为单位)。这样可以避免在可能存在更多缓存命中时运行本地执行。默认值是 1000 毫秒,但应调整为略快于缓存命中所用的时间。实际时间取决于远程系统和往返所需的时间。通常,对于某个远程系统,所有用户都将具有相同的值,除非其中一些用户距离足够远,从而增加往返延迟时间。您可以使用 Bazel 性能剖析功能来查看典型的缓存命中需要多长时间。

动态执行可与本地沙盒策略和永久性工作器结合使用。与动态执行功能配合使用时,永久性工作器将自动与沙盒化运行,并且不能使用多重工作器。在达尔文和 Windows 系统上,沙盒化策略可能很慢,您可以传递 --experimental_reuse_sandbox_directories 来尝试一种在这些系统上加快沙盒速度的新方法。

动态执行也可以使用 standalone 策略运行,不过,由于 standalone 策略在开始执行时必须采用输出锁定,因此它会有效地阻止远程策略先完成。--experimental_local_lockfree_output 标记解决了这个问题,它允许本地执行直接写入输出,但被远程执行中止(如果先完成的话)。

如果动态执行中的某个分支首先完成但失败了,则整个操作都会失败。这是故意做出的选择,有助于防止本地执行和远程执行之间的差别被忽略。

有关动态执行及其锁定机制工作原理的更多背景信息,请参阅 Julio Merino 的精彩博文

何时应使用动态执行?

动态执行需要某种形式的远程执行系统。目前无法使用仅缓存的远程系统,因为缓存未命中被视为失败的操作。

并非所有操作都适合远程执行。最好的候选变体是本质上更快(例如通过使用永久性工作器)或者运行速度足够快,使远程执行的开销占用了执行时间的代理。由于每项本地执行的操作都会锁定一定数量的 CPU 和内存资源,因此运行不属于这些类别的操作只会延迟执行这些操作的类别。

5.0.0-pre.20210708.4 版本开始,性能分析包含有关工作器执行情况的数据,包括在失去动态执行竞态后完成工作请求所用的时间。如果您发现动态执行工作器线程在 async-worker-finish 上获取资源或者花费大量时间来获取资源,则某些缓慢的本地操作可能会导致工作器线程延迟。

分析动态执行性能不佳的数据

在上面的配置文件中,使用 8 个 Javac 工作器时,我们发现许多 Javac 工作器丢失了比赛并在 async-worker-finish 线程上完成了工作。这是由于非工作器助记程序获取足够的资源延迟工作器造成的。

对性能进行性能分析,获得性能分析数据

当仅 Javac 通过动态执行运行时,只有大约一半的启动工作器在开始工作后丢失了比赛。

之前推荐的 --experimental_spawn_scheduler 标志已弃用。它会开启动态执行功能,并将 dynamic 设置为所有助记符的默认策略,这通常会导致以下问题。

问题排查

动态执行的问题可能很细微且难以调试,因为它们可能仅在某些特定的本地和远程执行组合下出现。--experimental_debug_spawn_scheduler 添加了动态执行系统的额外输出,可帮助调试这些问题。您还可以调整 --experimental_local_execution_delay 标志以及远程与本地作业的数量,以便更轻松地重现问题。

如果您在使用 standalone 策略遇到动态执行问题,请尝试在不使用 --experimental_local_lockfree_output 的情况下运行,或者在沙盒中运行的本地操作。这可能会降低构建速度(如果您在 Mac 或 Windows 上,请参阅上文),但移除了一些可能的失败原因。

BazelCon 2022 is coming November 16-17 to New York and online.
Register today!

Dynamic Execution

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Dynamic execution is a feature in Bazel since version 0.21, where local and remote execution of the same action are started in parallel, using the output from the first branch that finishes, cancelling the other branch. It combines the execution power and/or large shared cache of a remote build system with the low latency of local execution, providing the best of both worlds for clean and incremental builds alike.

This page describes how to enable, tune, and debug dynamic execution. If you have both local and remote execution set up and are trying to adjust Bazel settings for better performance, this page is for you. If you don't already have remote execution set up, go to the Bazel Remote Execution Overview first.

Enabling dynamic execution?

The dynamic execution module is part of Bazel, but to make use of dynamic execution, you must already be able to compile both locally and remotely from the same Bazel setup.

To enable the dynamic execution module, pass the --internal_spawn_scheduler flag to Bazel. This adds a new execution strategy called dynamic. You can now use this as your strategy for the mnemonics you want to run dynamically, such as --strategy=Javac=dynamic. See the next section for how to pick which mnemonics to enable dynamic execution for.

For any mnemonic using the dynamic strategy, the remote execution strategies are taken from the --dynamic_remote_strategy flag, and local strategies from the --dynamic_local_strategy flag. Passing --dynamic_local_strategy=worker,sandboxed sets the default for the local branch of dynamic execution to try with workers or sandboxed execution in that order. Passing --dynamic_local_strategy=Javac=worker overrides the default for the Javac mnemonic only. The remote version works the same way. Both flags can be specified multiple times. If an action cannot be executed locally, it is executed remotely as normal, and vice-versa.

If your remote system has a cache, the --experimental_local_execution_delay flag adds a delay in milliseconds to the local execution after the remote system has indicated a cache hit. This avoids running local execution when more cache hits are likely. The default value is 1000ms, but should be tuned to being just a bit longer than cache hits usually take. The actual time depends both on the remote system and on how long a round-trip takes. Usually, the value will be the same for all users of a given remote system, unless some of them are far enough away to add roundtrip latency. You can use the Bazel profiling features to look at how long typical cache hits take.

Dynamic execution can be used with local sandboxed strategy as well as with persistent workers. Persistent workers will automatically run with sandboxing when used with dynamic execution, and cannot use multiplex workers. On Darwin and Windows systems, the sandboxed strategy can be slow, you can pass --experimental_reuse_sandbox_directories to try a new approach speeding up sandboxes on these systems.

Dynamic execution can also run with the standalone strategy, though since the standalone strategy must take the output lock when it starts executing, it effectively blocks the remote strategy from finishing first. The --experimental_local_lockfree_output flag enables a way around this problem by allowing the local execution to write directly to the output, but be aborted by the remote execution, should that finish first.

If one of the branches of dynamic execution finishes first but is a failure, the entire action fails. This is an intentional choice to prevent differences between local and remote execution from going unnoticed.

For more background on how dynamic execution and its locking works, see Julio Merino's excellent blog posts

When should I use dynamic execution?

Dynamic execution requires some form of remote execution system. It is not currently possible to use a cache-only remote system, as a cache miss would be considered a failed action.

Not all types of actions are well suited for remote execution. The best candidates are those that are inherently faster locally, for instance through the use of persistent workers, or those that run fast enough that the overhead of remote execution dominates execution time. Since each locally executed action locks some amount of CPU and memory resources, running actions that don't fall into those categories merely delays execution for those that do.

As of release 5.0.0-pre.20210708.4, performance profiling contains data about worker execution, including time spent finishing a work request after losing a dynamic execution race. If you see dynamic execution worker threads spending significant time acquiring resources, or a lot of time in the async-worker-finish, you may have some slow local actions delaying the worker threads.

Profiling data with poor dynamic execution performance

In the profile above, which uses 8 Javac workers, we see many Javac workers having lost the races and finishing their work on the async-worker-finish threads. This was caused by a non-worker mnemonic taking enough resources to delay the workers.

Profiling data with better dynamic execution performance

When only Javac is run with dynamic execution, only about half of the started workers end up losing the race after starting their work.

The previously recommended --experimental_spawn_scheduler flag is deprecated. It turns on dynamic execution and sets dynamic as the default strategy for all mnemonics, which would often lead to these kinds of problems.

Troubleshooting

Problems with dynamic execution can be subtle and hard to debug, as they can manifest only under some specific combinations of local and remote execution. The --experimental_debug_spawn_scheduler adds extra output from the dynamic execution system that can help debug these problems. You can also adjust the --experimental_local_execution_delay flag and number of remote vs. local jobs to make it easier to reproduce the problems.

If you are experiencing problems with dynamic execution using the standalone strategy, try running without --experimental_local_lockfree_output, or run your local actions sandboxed. This may slow down your build a bit (see above if you're on Mac or Windows), but removes some possible causes for failures.